View Full Version : System Requirements for Carbon


Anandpr
09-26-2006, 06:37 AM
Electronic Arts published the system requirements of Need for Speed Carbon. You can check here if the game runs on your PC:

OS: Windows XP Service Pack 2 (only 32-bit Version),
Windows 2000 Service Pack 4
CPU: 1.7 GHz or faster
1GB RAM
8x or faster DVD drive *
3 GB or more hard disk space
Video: DirectX 9.0c compatible
Sound: DirectX 9.0c compatible
Controller: Keyboard, Mouse, Dual Analog Gamepad or Steering Wheel

Supported Steering Wheels:
Logitech Rumblepad
Logitech Dual Action
Xbox 360 Wired Controller
Logitech Momo Racing Wheel
Logitech G25 Racing Wheel

Graphic Cards with 64 MB or more memory and one of these chipsets:
NVIDIA GeForce4 Ti-4200
NVIDIA GeForce4 Ti-4400
NVIDIA GeForce4 Ti-4600
NVIDIA GeForce4 Ti-4800
NVIDIA GeForce FX Series
NVIDIA GeForce 6200
NVIDIA GeForce 6600
NVIDIA GeForce 6800
NVIDIA GeForce 7300
NVIDIA GeForce 7600
NVIDIA GeForce 7800
NVIDIA GeForce 7900
ATI Radeon 8500
ATI Radeon 9000
ATI Radeon 9100
ATI Radeon 9200
ATI Radeon 9500
ATI Radeon 9550
ATI Radeon 9600
ATI Radeon 9700
ATI Radeon 9800
ATI Radeon X300
ATI Radeon X550
ATI Radeon X600
ATI Radeon X700
ATI Radeon X800
ATI Radeon X850
ATI Radeon X1300
ATI Radeon X1600
ATI Radeon X1800
ATI Radeon X1900
Suggested resolutions: 640x480 / 800x600 / 1024x768 / 1280x1024 / 1600x1200

Note: Notebook versions of these chipsets can work but won't be supported. NVIDIA GeForce MX-series is not supported.

*) The DVD drive is only required in Europe, in the USA Need for Speed Carbon will be released on CD-ROM. :)

Founded in http://www.nfsplanet.com/main.php?lang=eng

P.S IF u guys have more than 1GB of Ram then no Problem!

Finraziel
09-26-2006, 10:44 AM
Suggested resolutions: 640x480 / 800x600 / 1024x768 / 1280x1024 / 1600x1200
Which probably means that the bastards STILL don't support widescreen! :(
I wish EA would wake the **** up and step into the present... 4:3 is a relic of the past.

Ricochet
09-26-2006, 12:01 PM
CPU: 1.7 GHz or faster
1GB RAM

P.S IF u guys have more than 1GB of Ram then no Problem!
Damn. 1 GB of RAM, and 1.7 GHz? Thank God I pre-ordered the PS3 :rolleyes5

Dr.DooM
09-26-2006, 12:32 PM
i gots 1 gb of ram, lol
i can run it :D

PH34R
09-26-2006, 02:58 PM
Woot. My PC has got just about 1GB RAM, i should be fine. Now all i need is a better video card, or else Carbon will look like crap on my computer.

codespyder
09-26-2006, 03:11 PM
Time to crank this baby up to 1600x1200.


If I only had a monitor with a resolution that high...

Saleen
09-26-2006, 05:48 PM
Damn, my vid card isn't even supported. Damn you EA!!!
damn hp's

momaka
09-26-2006, 07:36 PM
Which probably means that the bastards STILL don't support widescreen! :(
yeah, widescreen would be nice, most up to date games support that...

I wish EA would wake the **** up and step into the present... 4:3 is a relic of the past.
I wouldn't quite agree with that. You know, maybe 1/3 of all gamers have wide screens, but you have no damn idea how many people still use 4:3 ratio screens to play their games...

***

Ok, I understand most of the requirenments. I mean most games these days require 1.7 GHz, so nothing so special. I guess I can overclock my PC just to get to that. As for video memory - 64 MB required - yes that's quite okay too with me. My vid card is supported too, tough I'm sure it won't run on the hottest resolutions (lets hope 640x480 or 800x600)... But what the F**K EA? 1 GB of RAM??? Where does that come from anyways? Memory leaks again? Bad coding?... I mean look at the graphics and the cars --- they are rip-offs from MW, and yet how does that make the game more damanding? I looked at some of the screenshots, and the cars and the world still look the same as in MW, if not worse... Can someone explain me why do the system requirenments get higher when there is virtually no improvement on anything???... I mean TDU is going to look 10 million times better, and I'm damn sure the requirenments won't be that high, at least not on RAM. Not a damn GB...
So I guess EA just did a shitty job again on the graphics. What a way to ruin a game for those that have an older computer... F**ken retards :evil: ...

Nelson340
09-26-2006, 08:06 PM
Thank those Dell folks for hooking me up with 1 gig of RAM. Take that, Lebsta!

(PS: Anybody think a Dual-Core processor will work?)

Linkin
09-26-2006, 08:19 PM
Doubt it'll use both cores.

I should be able to play it no sweat, but the 1GB of memory is pretty demanding...

Ricochet
09-26-2006, 09:00 PM
I have only 256MB of RAM, useless if I'm to use it for this or any other new game, I'm gonna have to upgrade it soon, but first I have to raise the money.

internet3
09-26-2006, 09:18 PM
yay im' cool to use it on my 1 gig mem and AMD 64bit comp and with the 7800 agp im gonna buy it's all cool!

Revolution
09-27-2006, 01:53 AM
I'm upgrading already. :)
Not that I'd be unable to run it with what I had, I just wanna be able to run this and TDU nicely. :)
@internet3 - Don't get the 7800, its overpriced. Have a look for a 7600GT AGP :P

HSVrules
09-27-2006, 02:34 AM
Damn i'm ****ed. I only have 512mb of ram :(
P3, 1Ghz & an ATI Raedon 9250

I can only just run MW on low settings

Revolution
09-27-2006, 03:16 AM
Anybody else find it strange that Carbon supposedly only runs on 32-bit OSes?
Methinks that perhaps these are not the real requirements.. I mean, there's nothing about system reqs on the Need For Speed official site.

Finraziel
09-27-2006, 04:16 AM
I wouldn't quite agree with that. You know, maybe 1/3 of all gamers have wide screens, but you have no damn idea how many people still use 4:3 ratio screens to play their games...

Well yeah I know, what I meant is not supporting widescreen isn't of this time anymore. Actually I think your 1/3 is overestimating it already, but well the only reason I ever heard that EA never supports widescreen for pc is "they don't believe in it"... I mean, wtf??? It's not like they don't have to code it, PC coding is nearly the same as xbox coding and that has widescreen obviously. There may not be THAT many widescreen owners for pc when you're looking at percentages, but the people that do are probably the same people that have a machine that can run the game at max... That's just a small % of people as well but they still code in these max settings don't they?
Anyway, I doubt these are the real requirements as well, and I doubt they would make 1 GB mandatory... Even though I have 2 GB and any serious gamer I know has at least 1 GB.

Distinctivechris
09-27-2006, 04:55 AM
OS: Windows XP Service Pack 2 (only 32-bit Version),
Windows 2000 Service Pack 4
1GB RAM
3 GB or more hard disk space
As Lancer evolution told above, something tells me that there are some big requirements & disappointment for this game, ok forgot the 3gb space, but winxp 32 bit version & 1 gb ram? isn't that too much for asking? I think I'll switch to TDU or I'll wait for the real requirements or switch to some other game.

Revolution
09-27-2006, 08:06 AM
32-bit XP isn't asking much (most people have it!) but going by what is said in the first post, it reads as if 64-bit is unsupported, which is ridiculous in this day and age.

Anandpr
09-27-2006, 08:37 AM
u guys better hurry because the PC version of NFS:Carbon Demo will come very soon!!!

FP
09-27-2006, 11:19 AM
Well I am way above those requirements. But I don't see why 1 GB of ram whereas not too long ago they were still on 512mb, I have 3 GB of Ram so it doesn't effect me, but EA is always so damn high on requirements.

lambofreak100
09-27-2006, 04:47 PM
hmmm...
512MB RAM, P4, 1440 x 900 (I love this resolution!)

but...unless I use my dad's computer (he has an FX NVIDIA), I'm stuck with NVIDIA GeForce 2 MX-200.

PH34R
09-27-2006, 04:59 PM
hmmm...
512MB RAM, P4, 1440 x 900 (I love this resolution!)

but...unless I use my dad's computer (he has an FX NVIDIA), I'm stuck with NVIDIA GeForce 2 MX-200.

ATI FTW!!

It beats Nvidias. May i recommend the X300? At least thats what i want to get.

mouzman
09-27-2006, 05:49 PM
i bet this will run so smooth on my 7900gt :D:D
can't wait to get it going
May i recommend the X300? At least thats what i want to get.
i say don't do it it sucks nowadays and it's really low end....

Finraziel
09-27-2006, 06:27 PM
Agreed... take a look here if you want some simple advice about which cards are good at which price ranges:
http://www.tomshardware.com/2006/09/26/the_best_gaming_video_cards_for_the_money/

If the 100$ they take as lowest starting point is too rich for you, I would really suggest you save up a little more money because going cheaper than that, you will end up with a videocard that, even if it even does satisfy your need right now, will have to be replaced real soon again because it just wont be very fast.

(oh and my 7800GTX wont have problems either I suspect :D)

Anandpr
09-28-2006, 12:31 AM
First Test it with that System Requirements . IF it works it's OK ;)

twjr
09-28-2006, 03:39 AM
even my laptop can run this. 3200+, 1gig ram, X600 128 mb. it isnt particularly demanding, though the ram is quite high.

jp5077
09-30-2006, 02:45 AM
Can GeForce2 MX 64mb graphics card use in carbon?

damien123666
10-02-2006, 05:17 AM
is this true that nfsC will use 2gb of ram... why would it need so much when their is more detailed games out their.

Recommended System Requirements:

Windows XP, Windows XP 64-bit
2048MB System RAM
3.6 Ghz Intel Xeon or equivalent processor
512MB Direct3D compatible video card
and DirectX 9.0 compatible driver;
8x DVD-ROM drive
4.6 GB free hard disk space
DirectX 9.0c (included)
DirectX 8.1 compatible sound card
Keyboard, Mouse

http://www.nfs-carbon.net/need-for-speed-carbon-requirements.php

momaka
10-02-2006, 08:10 PM
meh, I looked the system requirenments of TDU, and they look about the same (with the exception o the video card). Only thing is that in TDU, the graphics and the gameplay will be millions of times better than EA's shitty-recycled textures... For TDU, I read in a forum that it would require at least an ATI x1800 or a nVidia 7600 GT :P ...
You know, I'm really thinking, should I just say "f**k you" to new games? I mean I now rather use my comp to play music and do photoshop graphics more than anything else :P . Maybe some CS Source and CS 1.6 from time to time, and some old NFSs ;) .
And... I don't mind when new games are having high requirenments, only if these new games actually have a good enough improvement. TDU does, but I don't see NFS C having much more shit than MW (by shit I mean shitty features that EA adds and calls them improvements).

Rane
11-11-2006, 02:43 PM
EDIT:

Gotta love the fact that I haven't figured out how to delete my post.