View Full Version : would CARBON work on my PC? need help


rev_lover
07-25-2007, 06:00 AM
i ordered carbon through internet, so i was wondering if it would work on my pc.
i have got 512 mb ram(2x256mb ddr-mem) in my PC spec-list, but in my computer menu it showz i have 480 mb ram. would i have problem wiv the game?

my pc spec is:
128mb nvidia geforce 4
2.07 ghz
512mb(2x256mb)

my NFS Most Wanted works just fine.

let me know if my game would work

thanks

MSDN
07-25-2007, 08:48 AM
Whats your computer brand? That videocard seems a bit iffy. Your computer is showing 480 because your on-board videocard is enabled. Is the Geforce 4 in an AGP or PCI slot, or is it not? If not, onboard video hates computer games. Try to find a way to disable on-board video in your BIOS options, its using up 32mb though, which isn't too bad.

I would call your computer low end, because of the Geforce 4. Try to run carbon, but first try the demo.

rev_lover
07-26-2007, 02:27 AM
thanks for the reply. i tried carbon demo it didnt work. i own a Mesh PC. i will try to sort out bios options. thanks again for the info.

Vanexroxics
07-26-2007, 02:39 AM
Geforce 4? Is it an MX? If it is, it doesn't support. But the computer specs is pretty fine.

rev_lover
07-26-2007, 02:57 AM
Mine is 128 geforce 4 (shared mem onboard a7n8x-vm). carbon its working right. graphics are messed up..i dont no much about pc. so need your help guys. how to get rid of onboard stuff from bios?.

rev_lover
07-26-2007, 02:58 AM
my carbon is not working right*. is that 480 ram the only problem?. my most wanted works great.

Vanexroxics
07-26-2007, 03:14 AM
I don't think it supports Geforce MX. Alot of people have this problem before. So the best way is to get a new graphics card. Yeah.

rev_lover
07-26-2007, 06:35 AM
thanks for ur advise. i m goining to upgrade my RAM,Graphic card, and maybe the motherboard.

WESTBLADE
07-26-2007, 09:22 AM
ASUS A7N8X mobo? If it's revision 2.0, then get atleast 2x512 MB RAM 400Mhz CL3 and X1950 Pro 512 MB AGP (it's the best card you can get for AGP, but be sure you have 450W PSU).

hussnain
07-26-2007, 10:16 AM
my PC also dont run carbon


i m using Dell optiplex GX 260
512mb ram DDR (227 mhz)
64mb buildin extreme graphics controller

can some 1 help me

MSDN
07-26-2007, 11:10 AM
my PC also dont run carbon


i m using Dell optiplex GX 260
512mb ram DDR (227 mhz)
64mb buildin extreme graphics controller

can some 1 help me

Thats your problem. Carbon does NOT support on-board video cards. On-board video cards are hardwired into your motherboard, so it can't be very powerful. Although you set it to 64mb memory, it runs at a percentage of that, and without shaders, fsaa, af, etc.

Somebody really has to post a message somewhere that everybody see's, that Need For Speed Carbon, does NOT, and I repeat DOES NOT support onboard videocards.

osa_mah91
07-26-2007, 11:21 AM
i run carbon perfectly on

intel p4 2.4 ghz
512 ram (256 x2)
256 mb vga (offboard)

mew905
08-03-2007, 04:16 PM
i ordered carbon through internet, so i was wondering if it would work on my pc.
i have got 512 mb ram(2x256mb ddr-mem) in my PC spec-list, but in my computer menu it showz i have 480 mb ram. would i have problem wiv the game?

my pc spec is:
128mb nvidia geforce 4
2.07 ghz
512mb(2x256mb)

my NFS Most Wanted works just fine.

let me know if my game would work

thanks

Actual game runs better than the Demo, performance optimizations for the win!

Anyway I run a very low spec computer, Pentium 4 M 2.8GHz underclocked & undervolted to 1.6GHz (Inspiron 5150 heat issue fix, fixed by ME! look around, priest is a plagerist, giving me no credit for using my fix in combination with his warranty-voiding temporary fix. My fix + compressed air = 32 deg C w/o the fan), 2x 256MB PC2700 DDR RAM, 64MB GeForce Fx Go5200. I get 25fps average in carbon at 640x480, minimum gfx except for car reflection, and world detail. blur sucks, period, that frees up like 60% of frames.

If its a GeForce Ti4xxx card, it should run Carbon fine at those settings, probably a bit more. It wont look as good as a newer DX9 card, but it'll work just fine.

mew905
08-03-2007, 04:19 PM
my PC also dont run carbon


i m using Dell optiplex GX 260
512mb ram DDR (227 mhz)
64mb buildin extreme graphics controller

can some 1 help me

Unfortunately the video isnt fast enough. I'm guessing you mean 266MHz for the RAM, it'd be the same as mine then, which is just fine. Just grab a new video card, if its AGP, you can grab a Geforce 6600 GT AGP for like... $70, and my 6600GT on 800MHz Celeron CPU handles Carbon up to 30fps max settings (except blur), but because of the processor, it drops to 6 fps with other cars and reflections on.