View Full Version : Does the game work with Windows 7?


bman
04-02-2012, 12:27 PM
I've had issues with XP, so before I waste my time trying to get it to work, I'd like to know if anyone has gotten it to work with 7.

Elle
04-02-2012, 12:52 PM
it's not compatible. but you might be able to try an emulator.

http://www.microsoft.com/windows/compatibility/Windows-7/en-us/Details.aspx?type=Software&p=Need%20For%20Speed%20Porsche%20Unleashed&v=EA&uid=&l=en&pf=1&pi=6&c=PC%20Gaming&sc=Simulation%20%26%20Driving&os=64-bit

bman
04-02-2012, 02:33 PM
What kind of emulator would I need?

Elle
04-02-2012, 03:02 PM
you should try ePSXe (http://www.epsxe.com/download.php).

you can also google more PlayStation emulators if the above on doesn't work.

bman
04-02-2012, 03:37 PM
I'm wanting to play the PC version...

Mad Driver
04-02-2012, 03:39 PM
I'm wanting to play the PC version...

:Facepalm:

That's by far,the dumbest thing i heard today....

bman
04-02-2012, 03:43 PM
:Facepalm:

That's by far,the dumbest thing i heard today....

Why? Elle was linking me to a PS1 emulator.

Mad Driver
04-02-2012, 03:56 PM
Wasn't that a emulator that makes the PS1 version of the game work on W7?
If i got things wrong,i take it back.

bman
04-02-2012, 04:01 PM
Wasn't that a emulator that makes the PS1 version of the game work on W7?
If i got things wrong,i take it back.

You got things wrong, I want to play the PC version on Windows 7.

tgomola
04-02-2012, 04:42 PM
NFS Porsche does work on Windows 7, you need only to remember this:

1. Install the official patch.

2. The ingame font might be unreadable. The solution is to force antialiasing in your GPU drivers.

3. If the game hangs on title screen and won't go into the main menu, you may try removing/renaming gimme.dll file in the game's main directory.

That's all, I've tried it personally and I it works. Have fun :)

Skirmisher
04-03-2012, 09:35 PM
Works fine for me out of the box on Win7. The 3.5 enhanced patch (http://www.nfscars.net/file/view/porscheunleashed/9927.aspx) adds some nifty features and fixes too, so I recommend grabbing it. Of course, it's been a while since I played the game, so I can't remember exactly what did and didn't work, but it was playable at least. :D

bman
04-03-2012, 09:38 PM
I tried it earlier today and it works fine.

I already have the official patch installed, can I install the enhanced patch over it?

Skirmisher
04-03-2012, 09:42 PM
I tried it earlier today and it works fine.

I already have the official patch installed, can I install the enhanced patch over it?
Probably. IDK what version I had before, but I would think that you can. If all else fails, you can always back up your saves and reinstall, though. :P

alexemil5
12-31-2012, 11:53 PM
That's what I need... I am also playing it for my PC....

SLZ Roadstar
01-01-2013, 11:50 AM
Stop bumping old threads in which you have nothing good to post.

THREAD LOCKED