Go Back   NFSCars Forums > Need For Speed Editing Section > F.A.Q.'s & Tutorials > Zmodeler and Other 3D program Tutorials

View Poll Results: Did this help at all?
Yes 64 45.07%
A little 50 35.21%
No 28 19.72%
Voters: 142. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-19-2005   #1
TwIzTiD
Retired SuperMod
 
TwIzTiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,536
Send a message via AIM to TwIzTiD
Default TwIzTiD's ZModeler Tutorial, The Basics

Table of Contents:

1. Programs Needed
-> A. Zmodeler
-> B. A Suitable Paint Program(Paint Shop Pro/Photoshop)

2. Blueprints
-> A. Choose your car you want to model
-> B. Search for Blueprints
-> C. Cutting/Sizing Blueprints

3. Your Car
-> A. Referance Pics
-> B. Other Referance Materials

4. Getting Started With Zmodeler
-> A. Opening Zmodeler
-> B. Loading Blueprints

5. Modeling your First Car
-> A. Creating the First Part
-> B. Extruding
-> C. Expanding your Model

--------

Tutorial:

--------

FORWARD:
Note, In this tutorial, I am going to use a 2000 Nissan Cube Z10.

http://www.nfscars.net/forum/attachm...achmentid=1918

--------

1. Programs Needed
-> Zmodeler
Zmodeler is a 3D Program created by a Man named Oleg. It is a fairly simple program, kinda easy to use.
Download ZModeler 1.07b -- Visit Website

-> A Suitable Paint Program(Paint Shop Pro/Photoshop)
Although Neither of the programs are free, you can get a free trial of Paint Shop Pro at the Jasc Website, Photoshop, you can buy.
Download PSP Free Trial -- Visit Corel Website -- Adobe Photoshop CS

2. Blueprints
-> Choose your car you want to model, Or just use the one in this tutorial.
Pick a car, plane, train, or anything you want to model

-> Find your Blueprints
Find the Bueprints you would like to use via Google or somewhere else.
->Recomendation: SMCars<-

-> Cutting and Sizing your blueprints
After you find the blueprints that you would like to use(or the one in this tut) it is time to cut them.

1. Open up your Paint Program
2. Open up your blueprints
3. Change to Selection Tool
->http://www.nfscars.net/forum/attachm...achmentid=1919
4. Select as close to the car's body as possible
->http://www.nfscars.net/forum/attachm...achmentid=1920
-> Do this for all views

->Cut Blueprints<-
Back: http://www.nfscars.net/forum/attachm...achmentid=1921
Front: http://www.nfscars.net/forum/attachm...achmentid=1922
Left: http://www.nfscars.net/forum/attachm...achmentid=1923
Top: http://www.nfscars.net/forum/attachm...achmentid=1924



3. Your Car

Search Google(http://www.google.com) for referance pics and such. You will need these for an accuate car.


4. Getting Started With Zmodeler

1. Run the file zmodeler.exe.

2. Load your blueprints via:
->http://www.nfscars.net/forum/attachm...achmentid=1925

A. Click "Add" find all your blueprints(one by one) and load them into ZModeler.

B. Find What view you are on, make sure the view you are on matches up with the viewport you are in.

Do this for all views.


5. Modeling your First Car

A)
Make the first polys

1. In the main toolbox, on the Top View, Create -> Surfaces -> Flat - Draw some box in any shap/ form away from the roof.

2. Now to create the roof. Goto Create -> Faces -> Strip.

- Click on that box you just created.

- Create a strip of faces down the midline of the roof. (Around 5 Rows will work).

- Delete the faces from the first box you created.

- Moved the faces on the Z Axis, and the X Axis to line the vertices up.

- You should now have something like this:
http://www.nfscars.net/forum/attachm...achmentid=1926

B)
Extrude the faces.

1. Goto the left view.

2. Modify -> Move on the Y axis

3. Move the polys to the ridgeline of the roof, line them up vertice on vertice, since it is the middle of the car.

3. Don't be afraid the move some vertices on the Z to get the curve of the roof right.
- It should look like this on the left:
http://www.nfscars.net/forum/attachm...achmentid=1928

4. Finish the roof, final should be like this:
http://www.nfscars.net/forum/attachm...achmentid=1927

B)
Now that that is done time to see what it looks like with both sides together.

1. Create -> Objects -> Copy on the X Axis - copy the first half

2. Modify -> Mirror on the X Axis - mirror the second half

3. Modify - > Reorient
- reorient the second half

4. Modify -> Move - Move the second half so it barley overlaps the first.

5. Goto the 3D view, you will have something like this:
http://www.nfscars.net/forum/attachm...achmentid=1917



Congrats, you have made a roof. Now create the rest of the car using these techiques.


Copyright 2005 TCI TwIzTiD
Version 0.5.3
__________________
Twiztid - Retired NFSCars Super Moderator
Playing BF:BC2/COD:MW/COD:MW2 on Xbox Live. Want to join? TwizzyX3.





Last edited by TwIzTiD; 04-04-2005 at 03:44 PM..
TwIzTiD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2005   #2
TwIzTiD
Retired SuperMod
 
TwIzTiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,536
Send a message via AIM to TwIzTiD
Default

Also note, If you cannot see the Images, please post a reply and I will fix it asap.


Thanks to J Design, Vieable images coming soon.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	twotop.png
Views:	6207
Size:	9.5 KB
ID:	1917   Click image for larger version

Name:	nissan_cube_z10__2000_.png
Views:	6365
Size:	43.1 KB
ID:	1918   Click image for larger version

Name:	toolbar.png
Views:	5238
Size:	3.1 KB
ID:	1919   Click image for larger version

Name:	selection.png
Views:	4722
Size:	27.8 KB
ID:	1920   Click image for larger version

Name:	Back.jpg
Views:	6111
Size:	10.2 KB
ID:	1921  

__________________
Twiztid - Retired NFSCars Super Moderator
Playing BF:BC2/COD:MW/COD:MW2 on Xbox Live. Want to join? TwizzyX3.





Last edited by TwIzTiD; 02-19-2005 at 01:23 PM..
TwIzTiD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2005   #3
TwIzTiD
Retired SuperMod
 
TwIzTiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,536
Send a message via AIM to TwIzTiD
Default

Picturestwo
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Front.jpg
Views:	5027
Size:	10.8 KB
ID:	1922   Click image for larger version

Name:	Left.jpg
Views:	4140
Size:	22.9 KB
ID:	1923   Click image for larger version

Name:	Top.jpg
Views:	3826
Size:	24.0 KB
ID:	1924   Click image for larger version

Name:	leadbp.png
Views:	6094
Size:	8.4 KB
ID:	1925   Click image for larger version

Name:	firstpolys.png
Views:	6265
Size:	62.1 KB
ID:	1926  

__________________
Twiztid - Retired NFSCars Super Moderator
Playing BF:BC2/COD:MW/COD:MW2 on Xbox Live. Want to join? TwizzyX3.




TwIzTiD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2005   #4
TwIzTiD
Retired SuperMod
 
TwIzTiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,536
Send a message via AIM to TwIzTiD
Default

picturesthree

Pictures now up.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	finroof.png
Views:	5330
Size:	69.4 KB
ID:	1927   Click image for larger version

Name:	firstextrude.png
Views:	5385
Size:	84.1 KB
ID:	1928  
__________________
Twiztid - Retired NFSCars Super Moderator
Playing BF:BC2/COD:MW/COD:MW2 on Xbox Live. Want to join? TwizzyX3.





Last edited by TwIzTiD; 02-19-2005 at 01:35 PM..
TwIzTiD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009   #5
nfsmw4ever
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Default

zModeler gave me a trojan T________________________________________________T
nfsmw4ever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009   #6
OZ
GET OUT OF MY LAWN!
 
OZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Looking for russian bride adds
Posts: 4,308
Send a message via MSN to OZ
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nfsmw4ever View Post
zModeler gave me a trojan T________________________________________________T
if you downloaded it from the zmodeler site, is highly unlikely that you would get a trojan from it. If you got it from other sources other than the zmodeler site, i can say you are risking yourself without a reason to it.
__________________
OZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009   #7
nfsmw4ever
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Default

i got it from the xmodeler site.

zmodeler *sorry for the double post

Last edited by OZ; 01-08-2009 at 02:20 PM..
nfsmw4ever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2009   #8
MostEdwardo1
Van Halen Fan
 
MostEdwardo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Russia, ST. Petersburg
Posts: 1,288
Send a message via Yahoo to MostEdwardo1 Send a message via Skype™ to MostEdwardo1
Default

i dont get how to make the blueprints come up
MostEdwardo1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009   #9
josh1221
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1
Default

Hi,
at the point (in Zmodeler) when i click "add" and pick the blueprint it shows the name of it in the list but i can't see it, or if i click "OK" afterwards (for the selected name) it doesont show the blueprint as a background either.

Could someone help?I've got no idea whats wrong, but i'd really like to make my own cars aswell.
josh1221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2009   #10
Manic
Muscle Head
 
Manic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Fiery pits of Hell itself
Posts: 424
Default

^ You have everything here.
__________________
Tuning a car is a matter of taste. Ricing is beyond tastelessness.
A.R.G. Recruitment Officer



My garages
Manic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2009   #11
Vic1
Member
 
Vic1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 187
Send a message via MSN to Vic1 Send a message via Yahoo to Vic1 Send a message via Skype™ to Vic1
Default

iI have the same problem as josh1221, I click add, then OK and it doesn't display the blueprint, but when I add another image, it works.Why?
__________________

Last edited by Vic1; 07-29-2009 at 07:50 AM.. Reason: mistake
Vic1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009   #12
Ultimate Racer
ThE KiLLeR
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: in Chicago
Posts: 42
Default

wat zm you have?
Ultimate Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009   #13
KimoKiller199
Formerly kareem samman
 
KimoKiller199's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Damascus, Syria
Posts: 174
Default

how do you convert them to mw then
__________________
Add me on PSN: KimoKiller200


LAMBOFREAK
KimoKiller199 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009   #14
MostEdwardo1
Van Halen Fan
 
MostEdwardo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Russia, ST. Petersburg
Posts: 1,288
Send a message via Yahoo to MostEdwardo1 Send a message via Skype™ to MostEdwardo1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kareem samman View Post
how do you convert them to mw then
http://alexforum.forumotion.net/forum.htm
is your anser(on that site
__________________

Eddie Van Halen
MostEdwardo1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2009   #15
tobibrec
Modder
 
tobibrec's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Germany, Fürth
Posts: 64
Send a message via ICQ to tobibrec
Default

@Most Edwardo1
@josh 1221
@victor

The piczure must be a bitmap
__________________
---Toby---
tobibrec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2009   #16
Streettunner
The car DesIgn3r
 
Streettunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Salvador, Bahia, Brazil
Posts: 109
Send a message via MSN to Streettunner
Default

How to convert NFS U2 cars for MW ??
__________________
http://www.nfscars.net/forum/image.php?type=sigpic&userid=66014&dateline=125535  776
The best car of all time
Streettunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2010   #17
absclaw gt
FoRD GT AddicT
 
absclaw gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: \m/ India \m/
Posts: 86
Default

nice tut bro
__________________


your uniqeness is your identity
absclaw gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2010   #18
stephen098d
Junior Member
 
stephen098d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 24
Default

I can't get the option to load my blueprints and I can't download the 1.07 version since it doesn't download right. Please help!
stephen098d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010   #19
willy34
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Hungary
Posts: 12
Send a message via MSN to willy34 Send a message via Skype™ to willy34
Default

I made the blueprint cutting.I have 4 different pictures.I've converted it to BMP, but i can't load this images into Zmodeler1.What's the problem?What do you think?
willy34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010   #20
ionut24
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 3
Default

can you make a VW Golf IV variant please
ionut_the_king_92@yahoo.com if you want send mee a mesage
ionut24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010   #21
APBOYZ
Lamborghini Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,564

Bronze Gold Gold Gold 

Default

I`don`t get it. wtf? I don`t know how to do that.
APBOYZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010   #22
POMELO
ROCK AND ROLL NENENENEEEE
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 397
Default

Is a good tutorial. I voted for Yes but it can't help me now. I learned whitout tutorials.
POMELO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2012   #23
Kent Traffic Cop
**** This Shit
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 251
Default

On "B 3)" how did you bend it along the roofline? I've got a straight strip, but I have no idea how to bend it...

I used the bend tool but that messes everything up
__________________
Kent Traffic Cop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2012   #24
SSS89
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Romania/Bucharest
Posts: 2
Send a message via Yahoo to SSS89
Default

Hello guys, I'm new here! I want to change the M3 GTR stock vinyl whit Roney's Aston Martin or whatever boss vinyl... I'm using hex editor, sience I change rims,window tint, in MY CARS but the boss vinyls... makes me stupid. I want an image for this please help me! Google is not very explicit i search 4 days If someone can help i can send my gamesave for him to edit. I post an image here:http://www.freeimagehosting.net/1e9u7

Last edited by SSS89; 07-04-2012 at 02:03 AM..
SSS89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2012   #25
TwIzTiD
Retired SuperMod
 
TwIzTiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,536
Send a message via AIM to TwIzTiD
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kent Traffic Cop View Post
On "B 3)" how did you bend it along the roofline? I've got a straight strip, but I have no idea how to bend it...

I used the bend tool but that messes everything up
The easiest way is to move vertices. What you do is you go to move, then make sure you're on the vert. selection. You would move one by one or select all the ones you want to move and then move them.
__________________
Twiztid - Retired NFSCars Super Moderator
Playing BF:BC2/COD:MW/COD:MW2 on Xbox Live. Want to join? TwizzyX3.




TwIzTiD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2014   #26
johnd123
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 7
Default

umm.. I don't think I have Create --> Faces, Create --> Surfaces (I have surface but not surfaces) --> Flat, and Modify --> Reorient. Can somebody help?
johnd123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:25 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.